Heat pumps, operation?

Renewable energies except solar electric or thermal (seeforums dedicated below): wind turbines, energy from the sea, hydraulic and hydroelectricity, biomass, biogas, deep geothermal energy ...
catouni
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

Heat pumps, operation?

by catouni » 14/06/07, 15:40

Hello, I'm not a scientist and I have to explain to young children how a heat pump works which recovers heat from the basement to heat homes. Can someone help me?
1. Apparently we place pipes filled with liquid 1m deep?
2. What is this liquid for? how is it used?
3. Does it allow underfloor heating?
4. Are heat pumps used for ONE dwelling or can they be used to heat an entire building?
It all looks very complicated !!
Many thanks in advance
Catouni : Lol:
0 x
ThierrySan
Éconologue good!
Éconologue good!

by ThierrySan » 15/06/07, 08:04

Take a look at other posts like geothermal energy, air conditioning (similar to refrigeration circuits) and others ...

Take a look at the principle of basic pumps, for example on Wikipedia!

In short, there are two types of pumps: pumps that increase the flow, the flow meters, and those that increase the pressure, (well, I do not remember the name given to them).
Heat pumps are of the second category because by increasing the pressure, we increase the temperature of the transported fluid ... Boyle-Mariotte law, if I remember correctly!
0 x
catouni
I discovered econologic
I discovered econologic

by catouni » 15/06/07, 15:33

merci!
Catouni
0 x
Other
Pantone engine Researcher
Pantone engine Researcher

by Other » 15/06/07, 21:38

Hello
Basically it works like a fridge

in winter with liquid peddling water + glycol we circulate in the earth which is at 12 c in the thermo pump we try to cool glocco approximately to 4 c, this energy is returned in the heating air to 40c

In summer we do the opposite by absorbing heat from the air to transfer it to the glycol and the soil.