Using ashes in the kitchen garden

Agriculture and soil. Pollution control, soil remediation, humus and new agricultural techniques.
brinbrin62
I learn econologic
I learn econologic

Using ashes in the kitchen garden

by brinbrin62 » 13/02/18, 17:48

Hello everybody

The land of my little vegetable garden that I have been doing for two years is quite exhausted. It is a useful m² 10 town garden. I have trouble finding vegetable waste (no car) to cover the ground, but hey, I compost everything I can (vegetable dries, a little cardboard).

In a corner of this small garden, there is an old water tank. After removing a heap of rubbish, I realized that it was filled with old ashes (ten years or more). By sieving a sample, I found some coal, nails, and so on. I have a half m3.

Would you use this pile of cinder whose origin I do not know? Can I spread it? Is it too much for my surface? I saw on the net not more than two handles per m². If you used ash (and with what result), thank you in advance for answering.

BB62
1 x
Peace, love and NPK balance in your gardens.
sicetaitsimple
Econologue expert
Econologue expert

Re: Using ashes in the kitchen garden

by sicetaitsimple » 13/02/18, 18:06

brinbrin62 wrote:Hello everybody

The land of my little vegetable garden that I have been doing for two years is quite exhausted. It is a useful m² 10 town garden. I have trouble finding vegetable waste (no car) to cover the ground, but hey, I compost everything I can (vegetable dries, a little cardboard).

In a corner of this small garden, there is an old water tank. After removing a heap of rubbish, I realized that it was filled with old ashes (ten years or more). By sieving a sample, I found some coal, nails, and so on. I have a half m3.

Would you use this pile of cinder whose origin I do not know? Can I spread it? Is it too much for my surface? I saw on the net not more than two handles per m². If you used ash (and with what result), thank you in advance for answering.

BB62